Frustrating window / workspace behaviour when moving windows #1767
Replies: 3 comments
|
well, it looks like it deletes empty workspaces and renumbers them when one becomes empty and it's not the only one, as opposed to moving all windows from one workspace to another. I also don't always like this behavior, and it could probably be addressed with a "don't autoclose empty workspaces" setting. It's probably like that because otherwise you would have to manually close empty workspaces using some button/method on the workspace overview/switcher and gnome, and now cosmic, have decided against that approach, which is understandable, and possibly the superior default. Perhaps a feature request might be in order. |
|
I also find this very unpleasant. To some extent, you can mitigate it by pinning the workspaces you normally use. For example, if you pin workspaces 1-3, and move the only window from workspace 2 to workspace 1, workspace 2 won't disappear and workspace 3's windows will stay there. |
|
Agree with the above, something closer to i3's behavior would be preferable for me. i3 also will hide the empty workspace after the last window leaves and you focus another workspace - but i3 won't renumber/move windows. Wouldn't mind pinning as a first step either |
Uh oh!
There was an error while loading. Please reload this page.
Hi all. Loving Cosmic so far, but one of the most frustrating things for me is when moving windows to another workspace.
If I have only one window open on Workspace #2 and want to move it to #4 - all the windows from workspace #3 get moved into #2. Then I have to go through one by one and move all those windows back to #3, etc.
It's massively frustrating. When I move a window from #2 to #4, I expect that workspace to stay empty / as it was - not become instantly filled with all the other windows, messing up my entire expected workflow.
All reactions